Elizabeth & Julia McGrorty

 

1932-elizabeththomson-mcgrorty-and-julia-mcgroartyThis Blantyre photo was shared from Gord Fotheringham’s timeline. Gord told me his aunt Elizabeth and Julia McGrorty are featured in the family photo, but the date and boy were unknown.

Looking at some notes I had on the McGrorty family, Julia pictured on the right was born during WW1 in Blantyre in 1917, the daughter of Patrick McGrorty (1891 -1919) and Julia Smith (b1893).

Julia married Edward Mullen in 1939 when she was 22 and settled eventually in England. Both Julia and her husband Edward passed away in 1975. I think this photo dates from 1932. Julia is about 15, Elizabeth slightly older. I think the wee boy is James McGrorty Cummiskey. (born 1930)

Gord told me later, “Cummiskeys were always family we visited in Springwells………Julia and Eddie settled in welwyn garden city. Aunt Lizzie and Uncle Bill started a family in Bowhill, Fife…….then moved to Cardenden, Fife……it was there that my aunt Lizzie passed away…….the big cancer…….. Uncle Bill and his three children came to live with us at viewfield.”

Peter McKinnon told me back in September, “this photo has my mum’s mother in it Elizabeth smith Thomson. Sadly she passed away and Gordon fotheringham’s family raised my mum n two other siblings of which she is forever grateful.

Reaching out further to family, Helene Duddridge McGhee added, “This is my granny Julia Mullin”

Leave a Reply....(1st comment reviewed in 24 hrs)

