Charles (Chick) Cairney

 

Charles (Chick) Cairney was born in 1901.

117760943_1421963632At the young age of 27 years old, on Saturday 25th February 1928, sadly his funeral took place in High Blantyre Cemetery. Charles had a passion for boxing and it was this that led to his demise. The boxer collapsed during a bout with a Barrhead boxer at the St Mary Street Hall, Edinburgh, on Monday 20th February 1928.

He was a professional boxer who was active between 1923 and 1928. He boxed at bantamweight; featherweight and took part in 43 professional contests. He collapsed after fighting five rounds with J. McQuade of Glasgow, in Edinburgh but died in Edinburgh Royal Infirmary. He was well-known Scottish boxer, and for several years had met with fair success in the ring. His best performance was earlier in 1928 , when he qualified for the final a £100 gold belt competition promoted by a Glasgow club. He should have fought this final the previous fortnight, but owing to illness the contest had to be postponed. Cairney was employed at Earnock Colliery, Hamilton. He left a widow and three children.

The funeral procession left from his home at 5 John Street, Blantyre, and was largely attended, there being over 200 mourners present.

Many well-known followers of boxing, as well as managers were present. I didn’t manage to find a picture of Chic, but I did find his gravestone.

3 responses to “Charles (Chick) Cairney

  1. Paul,I had just looked at your piece on Chic Cairney and the name struck a chord with me and when I brought up the page there was the picture of a headstone with the name at the bottom of Agnes Smith a person whom I had known from my childhood and always referred to as my Aunt Agnes she and my mother had always been very close friends my mother’s maiden name was Annie Hanson of !6 Station Road Blantyre.Agnes had been married to Peter Smith and I believe that Peter was her second husband, her previous name I’am sure was Aitken,Agnes lived in Springwells,Paul if you find out more for me about the Aitken Cairney names I would be forever thankful.

    Like

Leave a Reply....(1st comment reviewed in 24 hrs)

